Round 08, K2 race report - Huffiz returns and dominates

Saturday, 3 September 2005
Shah Alam Stadium Kart Circuit (CCW)

Huffiz Fahro Rozi made another of his sporadic appearance in round 8 of the 2005 KART series, and dominated the event with a perfect winning record. This was Huffiz's third appearance this season. Ab Razak Halim and Fazz Rahman were the other podium finishers.

In qualifying, Huffiz was unbeatable. Starting each qualifying in the middle of the grid (P4), Huffiz reeled in the leaders and firmly snatched the lead to win both qualifying races. Other championship challengers Fazz and Salehudin @ Udi both had solid races, but could not prevent Huffiz from clinching the win of the day. Even the outspoken Razak (who finished second twice to Huffiz) could not match Huffiz for speed & finesse. The other championship challenger, Jules Ng was not present to defend his championship lead.

The remaining top six finishers were Yew Siak Jin (Jin), Udi and Shaeran Baba.

Top qualifying honours went to Huffiz with two wins, Udi and Jin with a win a piece.

The absence of Jules and the mixed performance from Fazz and Udi plus the surging Razak makes the K2 championship battle a nail biting contest.

K2 championship standing after Round 8:

[*]Fazz Rahman (90, 215pts) **
[*]Salehuddin (90, 206pts) *
[*]Abd Razak (82) *
[*]Jules Ng (79, 209pts, 2 wins)
[*]Yew Siak Jin (79, 209pts, 0 wins) **

Fazz retakes the championship lead from Jules. But the 2005 rules (like in previous years) permit drivers to score from the best 8 out of 10 events (to allow for absence).

** Fazz and Jin have scored in every event thus far, so will have to start dropping points from their 2 worse performing events. Fazz's two worse scores are 5 and 6 pts, whilst Jin's are 6 and 6 pts.

* Udi and Razak have so far scored in 7 out of 8 events, so will have to drop points from 1 of their worse performing events. Both of their worse scores are 3 pts each.

Adjusted for the best 8 score rule, the championship position is as follows (Udi with a bigger lead):

[*]Salehuddin ([b]87[/b], 206pts) *
[*]Fazz Rahman ([b]79[/b], 215pts) **
[*]Abd Razak ([b]79[/b]) *
[*]Jules Ng (79, 209pts, 2 wins)
[*]Yew Siak Jin ([b]67[/b], 209pts, 0 wins) **

K2 1st qualifying report

A,2,Shaeran Baba,3,22,16
A,3,Yusnee Yusof,6,26,14
A,4,Ashraff Dewal,4,24,12
A,5,Shahrul Azlan,5,25,11
A,6,Yew Siak Jin,2,20,10
A,7,Brian Fernandez,7,28,9

B,1,Hafidz Fahro Rozi,4,24,20
B,2,Fazlur Rahman,1,19,16
B,4,Jason Lu - BM5,5,25,12
B,5,Joey Teo,7,29,11
B,6,Abd Razak,2,20,10
B,7,Kelvin Lee,6,26,9

K2 2nd qualifying report

A,1,Yew Siak Jin,6,26,20
A,2,Shaeran Baba,5,25,16
A,3,Ashraff Dewal,4,24,14
A,5,Yusnee Yusof,2,29,11
A,6,Shahrul Azlan,3,22,10
A,7,Brian Fernandez,1,19,9

B,1,Hafidz Fahro Rozi,4,24,20
B,2,Abd Razak,6,26,16
B,3,Fazlur Rahman,7,28,14
B,5,Joey Teo,1,19,11
B,6,Jason Lu - BM5,3,22,10
B,7,Kelvin Lee,2,1,9

Overall Qualifying Ranking

1,Hafidz Fahro Rozi,13,40
3,Shaeran Baba,8,32
4,Yew Siak Jin,4,30
5,Fazlur Rahman,3,30
6,Abd Razak,5,26
8,Ashraff Dewal,10,26
9,Yusnee Yusof,23,25
10,Jason Lu - BM5,14,22
11,Joey Teo,37,22
12,Shahrul Azlan,19,21
13,Kelvin Lee,24,18
14,Brian Fernandez,32,18

Final Race Result

Pos,Final group,Driver,Grid,Kart,Points
1,(A),Hafidz Fahro Rozi,7,26,20
2,(A),Abd Razak,2,19,16
3,(A),Fazlur Rahman,3,28,14
4,(A),Yew Siak Jin,4,25,12
6,(A),Shaeran Baba,5,22,10
8,(B),Ashraff Dewal,7,26,8
9,(B),Jason Lu - BM5,5,25,7
10,(B),Yusnee Yusof,6,24,6
11,(B),Brian Fernandez,1,19,5
12,(B),Shahrul Azlan,3,22,4
13,(B),Kelvin Lee,2,21,3
14,(B),Joey Teo,4,28,2

Overall Standings after Round 8

1. ,Fazlur Rahman,90,215
2. ,Salehuddin,90,206
3. ,Abd Razak,82,187
4. ,Jules Ng,79,209
5. ,Yew Siak Jin,79,209
6. ,Shaeran Baba,58,196
7. ,Brian Eravelly,58,140
8. ,Nazaruddin,57,187
9. ,Tarmizi,52,169
10. ,Hafidz Fahro Rozi,52,107
11. ,Ashraff Dewal,43,163
12. ,A Muhaymin,34,103
13. ,Simon Tan,34,101
14. ,Jason Lu - BM5,33,167
15. ,Azlee,26,106
16. ,Alvin Joseph,22,54
17. ,Azmee Ahmad,21,86
18. ,Shahrul Azlan,20,130
19. ,Ahmad Hilmy Halim,17,57
20. ,Devan Sridaran,16,73
21. ,Yusnee Yusof,11,84
22. ,Edwin Cheah ,11,29
23. ,Munib,9,56
24. ,Kelvin Lee,8,41
25. ,Brian Fernandez,5,43
26. ,Ng Wei Li,4,72
27. ,Steward Loke,4,71
28. ,Nurul Alis,3,21
29. ,Joey Teo,2,37
30. ,Yu Jin Lee,2,33
31. ,Yip Yen,1,75
32. ,Nazim Mansor - B328,0,43
33. ,Ozi Shahril,0,33
34. ,Khairul Hizam,0,18
35. ,James Tiang,0,16
36. ,Alban de Souza,0,16
37. ,Stanley Tai,0,15
38. ,Zoolhilmi Mohd,0,13