Need Help Here!!

Submitted by zafiq89 on Sun, 06 Apr 2008 - 22:59

Hi there!

I am a college student that have been interested with karting. I am looking forward to join my-kart at the end of this month (waiting for MARA
money ..hehehe)

I have a few question here ;

1. How much to rent a kart?
2. Can I join races?
3. Do I need to buy an overalls / helmet??
4. What is the max weight for karting ( I'm kinda big )???

Hope there is someone will answer my question.

Thanks!!

Forum topics

Hi Zafiq,

Thanks for the queries. Here's some answers:

i) The walk-in rate for normal customers is usually RM35 for 10 mins on a rental kart. (it may have gone up - I quoted 2007 price).
For my-KART races, you actually get to race 3 times - 2 heats and a finals, which is a total of 24 laps. All that for RM90 (non Member fee at current rates)

ii) Yes, my-KART's monthly DRIVER Series events are open to all. However, it is recommended that you gain some familiarity with kart handling, by trying the rental karts at your own time, or joining one of the informal "Chicken Wing" sessions, in which the experienced my-KART members allocate some time to teach the basics of karting off, and on track. As I mentioned, this is usually a fun session with some learning thrown in for the newbies.
You are welcome to join the next session on 4th May around 12pm, to be lead by our Wing Commander, Edwyn Low.

iii) You don't have to buy overalls, racing suits and helmets for your first time event. Helmets are provided by City Karting, and we would encourage you to wear long sleeved shirt and long pants, and proper sports shoes for basic protection. Once you catch the karting bug, you would tend to buy your helmet, then racing suit, shoes, then move up to customising your helmet, suit, etc....all for style only..doesn't make you race faster! Case in point..I don't use flashy helmets/suits yet can beat those who do..:P